PILOT Awards 2021 Media Tech, Innovation Scholarships


PILOT, the innovation initiative of the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB), has revealed this year’s recipients of its annual media technology and innovation scholarships.

The awards, valued at $2,500 each, will be presented to four college students — two undergraduate and two graduate — for pursuit of studies related to broadcast or media technology and innovation.

The scholarship program was launched in 2019 and is administered in partnership with the Broadcast Education Association (BEA).

This year’s winners (and the schools to which they plan to apply their scholarships) are as follows:

  • Destney JohnsonGrambling State University
  • Christi McGahanLiberty University
  • Sophie TheissGulf Coast State College
  • Julie YoungLoyola University of Chicago

Eligible academic areas for scholarship applicants include broadcast television or radio engineering and technology, broadcast content creation including sports and news production, web and online media, mobile media, media-related information technology (IT), multi-platform audience measurement and media technology research.

“The NAB is excited to work once again with BEA in presenting these PILOT scholarships to worthy students as they pursue careers in broadcast and media technology,” said Sam Matheny, the NAB’s executive vice president of Technology and chief technology officer. “Helping young people better understand our industry and its challenges will inspire fresh thinking to engage future opportunities.”

BEA Executive Director Heather Birks added that the partnership it has with PILOT “is dedicated to supporting the next generation of media innovators, and these scholarships will further our mission of fostering future leaders shaping broadcast radio and television.”

For further information, please visit nabpilot.org/scholarships.