NAB’s Smith To Receive Excellence in Broadcasting Award


The Broadcasters Foundation of America has selected the soon-to-retire President/CEO of the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) as the recipient of the 2021 Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award.

The honor is bestowed annually on an individual in broadcasting whose work exemplifies innovation, community service, advocacy, and entrepreneurship.

This year, it is going to Gordon Smith, the former Republican U.S. Senator from Oregon who will be replaced by Curtis LeGeyt as the NAB’s head in January 2022.

Smith will be presented with the award at the Broadcasters Foundation Annual Breakfast, scheduled to coincide with the 2021 NAB Show. The affair is scheduled for October 12 at 7am in the Brahms Room of the Encore Hotel in Las Vegas.

Smith joined the NAB as its leader in November 2009. Prior to joining NAB, he served as senior advisor in the Washington offices of Covington & Burling LLP.

The Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award salutes its namesake and is underwritten by The Mays Family Foundation. Past recipients include Ajit Pai, Bill Clark, Eddie Fritts, Cathy Hughes, Mel Karmazin, Jeff Smulyan, Dick Wiley, and others.