NAB To Honor Wayne Brady For Service to USA


He’s widely known across the United States for his time on non-scripted improv series Whose Line Is It Anyway? and for hosting an eponymous syndicated weekday TV talk show. Since its revival 14 years ago, he’s also been the host of daytime TV game show Let’s Make A Deal.

On June 6, he’ll be feted by the National Association of Broadcasters Leadership Foundation with his receipt of its Service to America Leadership Award.

The honor is being bestowed upon Wayne Brady, and it is the highest individual citation awarded by the NABLF. It is presented in recognition of the honorees’ charitable work and public service.

Brady will receive the honor during the Celebration of Service to America Awards on June 6 at The Anthem, in Southwest Washington.

An accomplished singer and performer, Brady was nominated for a Grammy Award in 2009 for Best Traditional R&B Vocal Performance for his cover of the Sam Cooke song “A Change Is Gonna Come,” on his debut album. He also scored a victory on the second season of “The Masked Singer,” the popular FOX nighttime unscripted TV show.

Brady also has theater credits, and starred as Billy Flynn in the Broadway production of “Chicago,” Lola in the Tony Award-winning Broadway production of “Kinky Boots,” and as Aaron Burr in the Chicago production of “Hamilton.”

Brady also has a charitable side, and siince 2007 has been a friend of Ronald McDonald House Charities.

“Wayne Brady’s multifaceted career has showcased his unique talent and hilarious personality on-screen, on stage and on-the-air to the delight of audiences for decades,” said NABLF President/CEO Michelle Duke. “He has also used his immense gifts to support numerous charitable endeavors, raise our spirits and shine a light on worthwhile causes. NABLF and broadcasters across the country look forward to recognizing his generosity and compassion at the Celebration of Service to America Awards.”

Previous recipients of the Service to America Leadership Award include renowned chef and humanitarian José Andrés, legendary artist Patti LaBelle, “Hamilton” creator and star Lin-Manuel Miranda, award-winning artist John Legend, multi-platform country music star Sara Evans and GRAMMY-winning musician Jon Bon Jovi.