Congressional Super Committee features Upton, Kerry


The makeup of the bicameral committee that will deal with debt issues is three-fourths of the way there. Republicans have named all six of their representatives, and the Democrats have named their three senators. At least two of the members will be well-versed in communications issues, if they come up in the committee’s deliberations.

Among the Republicans is House Energy and Commerce Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI), who had a stop at the top slot at that committee’s Communications Subcommittee.

John Kerry (D-MA) is currently the Ranking Member of the Senate Commerce Committee’s own Communications Subcommittee.

Broadcasters have one main worry when it comes to budget and debt issues – that the auction of television spectrum to wireless broadband interests will be initiated without adequate protection to the broadcast incumbents in order to quickly generate some easy federal revenue.

Joining Kerry on the Democratic side are Patty Murray (D-WA) and Max Baucus (D-MT).

The other two Republican House members will be Jeb Hensarling (R-TX) and Dave Camp (R-MI). Jon Kyl (R-AZ), Rob Portman (R-OH) and Pat Toomey (R-PA) will represent the Republican Senate contingent.
The identities of the three House Democrats have not yet been revealed.