Scripps reups with ABC


E.W. Scripps CompanyThe E.W. Scripps Company owns and operates 11 ABC affiliated television stations, and has just inked a pact that will keep ten of them on the ABC roster through the end of 2019.

The stations are located in Bakersfield, Baltimore, Cincinnati, Cleveland, Denver, Detroit, Indianapolis, Phoenix, San Diego and Tampa.

The 11th station is located in Buffalo earlier in 2014 and will continue under its existing affiliation agreement which expires in 2018.

“We are pleased to have reached an agreement with ABC that reaffirms our long-standing partnership dating back to the 1940s,” said Brian Lawlor, senior vice president of television for Scripps. “For decades, ABC has programmed some of the best news and entertainment programming on TV. The continued success of ABC’s primetime shows along with the strength of ABC News is the perfect match to our strong local news and digital brands. We look forward to using the strength of our combined resources to satisfy the news and information needs of our local communities.”

“We’re very pleased to have completed this agreement with Scripps,” said John Rouse, senior vice president of affiliate relations for the ABC Television Network. “Scripps is one of the largest owners of ABC affiliates, and we look forward to continuing our long-time collaboration with them.”