Paul Karpowicz is new NAB Joint Board Chair


Steve Newberry finished his second term as NAB Joint Board chair this week and Paul Karpowicz, pictured, President of Meredith Local Media Group, was elected the new chair. He moves up from chairing the TV Board, while the Radio Board chair, Beasley CFO Caroline Beasley, was elected to another term.

The new TV Board chair is Marci Burdick, Sr. VP of Broadcast and Cable for Schurz Communications. Michael Fiorile, Dispatch Broadcast Group Vice Chairman and CEO, was elected first vice chair and Dunia Shive, CEO of Belo, second vice chair. All were elected unanimously.

In addition to the re-election of Beasley as chair of the Radio Board, Rick Cummings, Emmis President of Programming, was re-elected first vice chair. Don Benson, President and CEO of Lincoln Financial Media, was elected second vice chair. All votes were unanimous.