Broadcasters dominate NABJ Hall of Fame inductions


The National Association of Black Journalists has named five members of the press who will be inducted into its Hall of Fame in a ceremony to be held early in 2011, as well as a sixth individual who will be given the Ida B. Wells Award. Broadcasters have earned five of the slots, and the sixth is a print journalist who also gets a lot of air time.

The event takes place Thursday, January 27, 2011 at the Newseum in downtown Washington, DC.

“These trailblazers in the industry have endured great challenges so that black journalists today can have more freedom and professional opportunities,” said NABJ President Kathy Times. “Their accomplishments will be preserved and passed on to future generations. We’re proud to salute these worthy honorees.”

Among those being honored:

* The late Ed Bradley of CBS News stalwart “60 Minutes”

* Merri Dee – WGN-TV Chicago

* JC Hayward – WUSA-TV Washington

* Eugene Robinson – The Washington Post, and a frequent commentator on broadcast and cable outlets.

* Ray Taliaferro – KGO Newstalk 810 San Francisco

Earning the the Ida B. Wells Award:

* Walterene Swanston – National Public Radio