Wertlieb to Receive 2024 Golden Mike Award


NEW YORK — The EVP/COO of Hearst, the former longtime leader of its privately held broadcast television division, has been selected as the 2024 recipient of the Broadcasters Foundation of America Golden Mike Award.

The award will be presented to Jordan Wertlieb during a black-tie fundraiser on Monday, March 4, 2024, at the Plaza Hotel in the City of New York.

“I am honored by this recognition from the Board of the Broadcasters Foundation,” said Wertlieb, who was promoted to his current role from Hearst Television President in May. “The Broadcasters Foundation’s mission is to provide financial aid to our colleagues whose lives have been impacted by illness, accident, or natural disaster. I am committed to helping those in need and grateful to all who support this important organization.”

Wertlieb is a member of the Broadcasters Foundation Board of Directors and currently serves as its Vice Chair.

“We’re proud to honor Jordan for his distinguished career, commitment to broadcasting, and dedication to the charitable mission of the Broadcasters Foundation,” said Scott Herman, Chairman of the Broadcasters Foundation of America. “He is a staunch believer in top-quality content that audiences want.”

Tim McCarthy, President of the Broadcasters Foundation, added, “Jordan’s impressive career is matched only by his inspiring commitment to the Broadcasters Foundation. He gives his time and energy to advancing our cause, including attending our recent Media Mixer in New York City, an event designed for junior professionals in broadcasting to meet and network with top-level executives.”

In addition to the Broadcasters Foundation Board, Wertlieb serves on the Board of the NAB Leadership Foundation and is a member of the A+E Networks Board. In 2021, he was recognized by the National Association of Television Program Executives (NATPE) with its Lew Klein Award for Leadership and by the Library of American Broadcasting Foundation (LABF) for Lifetime Achievement during the LABF’s Giants of Broadcasting & Electronic Arts awards ceremony.

The Broadcasters Foundation Golden Mike Award is presented annually to an individual for their excellence in and commitment to broadcasting, and their ongoing service to the community at large. Previous recipients include Bob Pittman, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of iHeartMedia; David Barrett, former President and Chief Executive Officer of Hearst Television; Perry Sook, Chairman and Chief Executive Officer of Nexstar Media Group; Emily Barr, former President and Chief Executive Officer of Graham Media Group; Hilton Howell, Jr., Chairman and Chief Executive Officer at Gray Television; and Jack Abernethy, Chief Executive Officer of FOX Television Stations; among others.

The host, presenters, and performer will be announced at a later date.

The Broadcasters Foundation has distributed millions of dollars in aid to broadcasters who have lost their livelihood through a catastrophic event, debilitating disease or unforeseen tragedy. Personal donations can be made to the Foundation’s Guardian Fund. Corporate contributions are accepted through the Angel Initiative, and bequests can be made through the Foundation’s Legacy Society.
More information, including how to make a donation or apply for aid, is available at www.broadcastersfoundation.org, or by contacting the Broadcasters Foundation at 212-373-8250. Email communication may be sent to [email protected].


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here