Three Agencies, iHeartMedia Finalist Front-Runners For RMAs


Some 139 radio spots and campaigns have made it to the finals of the 2019 Radio Mercury Awards, which honor outstanding radio covering ten categories.

Arnold Worldwide, BBDO NY, Dallas-based Hispanic shop Dieste and iHeartMedia Creative Services are the finalist front-runners.

The submissions were created by advertising agencies, production companies, radio stations, streaming companies, and students.

The 2019 finalists range from regional to large advertising agencies and radio stations, as well as national and local advertisers from such categories as automotive, consumer packaged goods, entertainment, financial services, healthcare, insurance, travel & tourism, telecommunications, and quick-serve restaurant. Entries were judged on their creativity, originality, execution, and effective communication of a brand’s message.

Anything is Possible on Radio is again the theme, and I am delighted to see this year’s slate of spots and campaigns truly delivered,” said Chris Beresford-Hill, Chief Creative Officer of TBWA\Chiat\Day New York and chief judge for the 2019 Radio Mercury Awards.  “We heard great work during judging and are excited to see the audio medium continue to advance forward.”

In addition to Chief Judge Beresford-Hill, the final round judging panel included Robin Fitzgerald, chief creative officer, BBDO Atlanta; Howard Finkelstein, senior copywriter, Wieden + Kennedy, NY; Donnell “Dojo” Johnson, group creative director, Anomaly; Peter Kain, executive creative director, BBDO/NY; Zoe Kessler, freelance creative director; Jeff Kling, chief creative officer, Lightning Orchard; John Matejczyk, chief creative officer, co-founder, M/H, VCCP; Pedro Perez, senior vice president, executive creative director, Energy BBDO; and Chris Smith, brand group creative head, The Richards Group.

The Radio Mercury Awards winners will be presented on June 6 at SONY HALL in New York City.

As previously announced, Progressive Insurance is being awarded as Radio Marketer of the Year.

To listen to this year’s finalists, click here.