RTDNA announces National Murrow Award winners


For the third consecutive year, NBC News has won the Edward R. Murrow award for Overall Excellence in the network television grouping as the annual awards were announced by the Radio Television Digital News Association (RTDNA). CBS Radio News won its fifth award for Overall Excellence in network radio.

NBC News also won National Murrows for Video News Documentary, Video Newscast and Use of Video

The TV side of CBS News earned three Murrow Awards in 2011 – for Video Feature Reporting, Video Reporting: Hard News and Video News Series.

ESPN won National Murrows in Video Investigative Reporting and Writing in the network television grouping while ABC took top honors in the Video Continuing Coverage category for the second consecutive year.

Also for the second year in a row, CNN.com took the award for network television Website.

In the network radio grouping, CBS Radio News won its fifth consecutive Overall Excellence award and was honored with a total of six National Murrows. National Public Radio again took home the award for Website in the network radio grouping as well as three other awards in the grouping.

After winning every award given to a national online news organization in 2010, The Associated Press won eight national awards in 2011, including the award for Overall Excellence.

StarTribune.com was named the Overall Excellence winner in the local online news organization grouping for the second consecutive year.

To earn an Overall Excellence award, a news organization must consistently demonstrate depth and scope in its coverage.

Overall Excellence award winners in 2011 are:

•    NBC News (network television)
•    CBS Radio News (network radio)
•    The Associated Press (online news operation, national)
•    Star Tribune, Minneapolis, MN (online news operation, local)
•    WTHR-TV, Indianapolis, IN (television, large market)
•    WGRZ-TV, Buffalo, NY (television, small market)
•    WTOP-FM, Washington (radio, large market)
•    WRVA-FM, Richmond, VA (radio, small market)

In all, 62 news organizations are being honored with 95 National Edward R. Murrow Awards. The awards will be presented at the RTDNA Awards Dinner in New York on October 10, 2011.

Click here for the complete list of winners and to hear/view the winning entries.