No Fair: More House Members Sign LRFA


With a big splash and public relations blitz, H.R. 4130 was introduced June 24 in the U.S. House of Representatives. Six House Members signed on to the bill.

Since then, the “American Music Fairness Act” has completed stalled out. It was referred to the House Judiciary Committee, where it awaits further support or its eventual death, handing another defeat to House Members Ted Deutch (D-Fla.) and Darrell Issa (R-Calif.).

At the same time, the non-binding resolution opposing “any new performance fee, tax, royalty, or other charge” on local broadcast radio stations has gained even more support. As of August 30, 12 Members have added their support.

Among those supporting the Local Radio Freedom Act (LRFA): the Ranking Republican on the powerful House Energy & Commerce Committee.

Please Login to view this premium content. (Not a member? Join Today!)