Heather Cohen Gets Second Term as AWM Boards Chair


The woman who serves as Executive Vice President of The Weiss Agency will be embarking on her second term as Chair of the boards of the Alliance for Women in Media & Foundation.

At the same time, the AWM Board is gaining two new radio industry leaders, while the AWM Foundation sees an Audacy Inc. join its distinct board.

Serving as the Chair for both the AWM Board and AWM Foundation Board is Heather Cohen.

Cohen will also serve as one of three chairs for the Gracie Awards, alongside Crown Media Family Networks Chief Communications Officer Annie Howell and veteran radio programming consultant Mike McVay.

Howell is also the incoming Chair for the AWM board, with Keisha Sutton-James, CEO and Founder of Sutton Button Productions LLC, serving as immediate past chair; Brenda Hetrick, Chief Revenue Officer of Matrix Solutions, serving as Treasurer; and Katina Arnold, Vice President of Corporate Communications at ESPN, serving as incoming treasurer.

New to the Alliance for Women in Media (AWM) Board are:

  • Catherine Badalamente, VP/Chief Innovation Officer (Incoming CEO), Graham Media Group
  • Monica Bloom, VP of Marketing, First Look Media
  • Thea Mitchem, Executive Vice President of Programming, iHeartMedia
  • Marie Tedesco, Chief Financial Officer, Beasley Media Group

New to the AWM Foundation Board are Tim Clarke, SVP of Digital Audio Content at Audacy, and Vicki Lins, President and CEO of CTAM.

“The role of the AWM and Foundation boards is to lead our organizations and industry as we recognize, connect and educate women in all facets of media,” said Becky Brooks,  who serves as President of AWM/F. “The past two years have proven that leadership of an organization is critical to navigate through uncertain times. It is as important as it’s ever been to have insightful, diverse leadership. This year’s directors are dedicated to donating time and resources to guide us to the next level. We are thrilled to have these talented, accomplished women and men guiding our strategic initiatives.”

The following leaders will continue to serve as Directors at Large of AWM:

  • Marsha Cooke, VP/Executive Producer, ESPN Films and 30 for 30
  • Abby Greensfelder, Founder & CEO, Everywoman Studios
  • Katherine Wolfgang, Head of Public Relations, CBC

McVay, along with Svetlana Gans, VP President and Associate General Counsel at NCTA – The Internet & Television Association (NCTA); Streamline Publishing’s Deborah Parenti, Publisher of RBR+TVBR, Radio Ink and Podcast Business Journal; Josie Thomas, retired EVP/Chief Diversity & Inclusion Officer at CBS; and Christine Travaglini, President of Katz Radio Group will each continue to serve as a Director at Large of AWMF.