The Greatest Response To Gracie Call For Entries


The Alliance for Women in Media Foundation (AWMF) has announced that the 2019 call for entries for the annual Gracie Awards was the most successful in the program’s history.

The Gracies are the largest fundraising event by the alliance, the philanthropic arm of AWM that supports educational programs, charitable activities and scholarships to benefit women in media.

The milestone comes as AWM and its Foundation announce their 2019 National Board of Directors. New to the AWM Board are Abby Greensfelder, co-founder & co-owner, Half Yard Productions; Matrix Solutions Chief Revenue Officer Brenda Hetrick; and Katherine Wolfgang, head of public relations at CBC.

“The number and caliber of extraordinary programs and performances entered for the 2019 Gracie Awards is an unprecedented milestone for the AWM/F,” said Executive Director Becky Brooks. “Gracies Judges – women and more men than ever before – include executives and talent from across every form of media. They have their work cut out for them in deciding the 2019 winners from this exceptional pool of nominees.”

Christine Travaglini, AWM/F board chair and Katz Radio Group President, added, “The role of the AWM and Foundation boards is to lead our organizations and industry as we recognize, connect and educate women in radio, television and interactive media. We are thrilled to have these talented, accomplished women joining our leadership for the next two years.”

Keisha Sutton James, vice president, Inner City Broadcasting Corporation, will serve as incoming chair, Heather Cohen, executive vice president, The Weiss Agency, will serve as Treasurer.  Josie Thomas, executive vice president, chief diversity and inclusion officer, CBS Corporation, will serve as treasurer-elect, while Sarah Foss, senior vice president, strategic initiatives, Freewheel Advertisers at FreeWheel will serve as immediate past chair.

The following individuals will serve as Directors at Large of AWM:

Joyce Fitch, executive vice president, general counsel and secretary, Beasley Broadcast Group

Jinny Laderer, president, vCreative

Meg LaVigne, president of television, Litton Entertainment

Kelly DeLace Perdomo, vice president, content, sports, entertainment, and partnership marketing, SiriusXM

Diane Schwartz, SVP and group publisher, Access Intelligence.

The following individuals will serve as Directors at Large of AWMF:

Anne Cowan, senior vice president, communications and marketing, CTAM

Annie Howell, co-founder and managing partner, The Punch Point Group

Deborah Parenti, publisher, Radio + Television Business Report and Radio Ink

Rob Stoddard, SVP program network policy, NCTA – The Internet & Television Association

Kristen Welch, chief financial officer, Illustrative Mathematics.

The 44th Annual Gracie Awards Gala will take place May 21, 2019, at the Beverly Wilshire, and the Gracie Awards Luncheon will be held June 26, 2019, in New York City at Cipriani 42nd Street.

The Gracies recognize exemplary programming created by, for and about women in radio, television, cable and interactive media. Honorees are selected in national, local and student markets, including both commercial and non-commercial outlets. Please visit for more information about the Gracie Awards, and to apply to participate as a judge.