George Beasley Set For Hall Of Fame Evening


The founder and Chairman of Beasley Broadcast Group is now officially a Hall of Famer.

George G. Beasley will be inducted tomorrow (11/18) to the 28th annual National Radio Hall of Fame, at a ceremony to be held at the Museum of Broadcast Communications in Chicago.

Mr. Beasley founded Beasley Broadcast Group in 1961, in North Carolina. Across 55 years in the radio industry, Mr. Beasley has received numerous broadcast industry distinctions, as well as recognition from various civic and charitable organizations.

The Library of American Broadcasting honored him as one of the 2012 Giants of Broadcasting. In 2011, the Florida Association of Broadcasters named him Broadcaster of the Year.

Prior to that, in 2010, the Country Radio Broadcasters awarded Mr. Beasley the Tom Rivers Humanitarian Award. In 2008, the Nevada Broadcasters Association inducted Mr. Beasley into their Hall of Fame.

Additionally, the Broadcasters’ Foundation has bestowed upon Mr. Beasley their prestigious Broadcast Pioneer Award.

Today, Beasley Broadcast Group’s AM and FM radio stations are run under the Beasley Media Group subsidiary.

With the recently completed acquisition of Greater Media, Beasley Broadcast Group owns and operates 50 FM and 19 AM stations in 16 large- and mid-size markets across the U.S.

Mr. Beasley will be honored alongside syndicated host Delilah; longtime San Diego-based morning hosts Jeff Detrow and Jerry Cesak; WTMX-FM in Chicago morning hosts Eric Ferguson and Kathy Hart; entertainer and radio host Steve Harvey; country radio legend Bob Kingsley; retired sportscaster Tony Roberts; syndicated talk host Michael Savage; and, posthumously, iHeart-syndicated KHKS-FM in Dallas morning host Kidd Kraddick and legendary Miami talk host Neil Rogers.