FCC broadcast engineering forum details revealed


At the risk of sliding into the literary netherworld of stereotype, we suggest that it will be pocket protectors as far as the eye can see at the FCC on Friday afternoon, 6/25/10. FCC OET Chief Julius Knapp will be hosting four panels boasting 36 individuals prepared to delve into arcane broadcast engineering topics.

The OET, or Office of Engineering and Technology, is holding the session from 3PM to 6PM Eastern. Each session will run for 30 minutes, with the final 45 minutes reserved for discussion and public comment.

From the FCC, here are the panel titles and participants:

3:00 p.m. Welcome and Overview of the Working Sessions

Julius Knapp, Chief, Office of Engineering and Technology

3:15 p.m. Cellularization of Broadcast Architecture

Jay Adrick, Harris Corporation

Mark Aitken, Sinclair Broadcasting

Rick Engelman, Sprint

Vern Fotheringham, CTB Networks

Jim Krammen, Motorola

Bob Seidel, CBS

Dennis Wallace, Meintel, Sgrignoli & Wallace

Merrill Weiss, Merrill Weiss Group

3:45 p.m. Methodologies for Repacking the TV Band

Lynn Claudy, NAB

Bruce Franca, MSTV

Mel Frerking, AT&T

Ira Goldstone, Univision

John McCoskey, PBS

Bill Meintel, Meintel, Sgrignoli & Wallace

Jim Ocon, Gray Television Group

Dr. Byron St. Clair, National Translator Association

John Viall, LIN Broadcasting

4:15 p.m. Improvements in VHF Reception

William Belt, Consumer Electronics Association

Greg Best, Greg Best Consulting

Charles Cooper, duTreil, Lundin and Rackley

Kerry Cozad, Dielectric Communications

Ross Heide, Cohen, Dippel and Everist

Jeff Johnson, Gannett Broadcasting Group

John Ross, Antennas Direct

Victor Tawil, MSTV

Kelly Williams, NAB

4:45 p.m. Advancements in Compression Technology

Richard Chernock, Triveni Digital

David Converse, ABC

Greg Coppa, CBS

Sterling Davis, Cox

Matthew Goldman, Tandberg Television / Ericsson

Brett Jenkins, ION

Glenn Reitmeier, NBC Universal

Mark Richer, ATSC

Andrew Setos, FOX Broadcasting

Peter Sockett, Capitol Broadcasting

5:15 p.m. Discussion/Public Comment

6:00 p.m. Adjournment