Diane Sutter named recipient of 6th Annual Frances Preston Trailblazer Award


Diane SutterThe Mentoring and Inspiring Women in Radio (MIW) Group announced that Shooting Star Broadcasting’s President and CEO Diane Sutter will receive the 6th annual MIW Radio Group Trailblazer Award on Thursday, 9/11 during the Leadership Breakfast at the 2014 Radio Show.  

The Radio Show, held September 10-12 at the Indiana Convention Center in Indianapolis, is produced by the RAB and the NAB.

The Trailblazer Award is presented each year to a woman who makes opportunities available for other women in the radio industry.  In 2012, it was renamed the “Frances Preston Trailblazer Award” in honor of Frances Preston, longtime president and CEO of BMI and MIW member. Ms. Sutter has indeed blazed the trail for so many.  Fourteen years ago, Diane created and developed the Broadcast Leadership Training (BLT) Program for women and minorities sponsored by the NAB Education Foundation.  She serves today as Dean and also teaches many sessions.  Diane gives generously of her time and talents to the BLT Program; her personal support has elevated the leadership skills and careers of over 220 graduates who have gone on to earn significant promotions and become successful broadcast owners.

“Diane Sutter’s career has been exemplary and extraordinary on so many fronts,” said MIW Radio Group Spokesperson Kay Olin. “Her leadership, commitment, generosity and passion on behalf of women, minorities and the radio industry made her the natural choice for this well-deserved honor as this year’s MIW Trailblazer.”