Beasley CTO To Get NAB Show Engineering Honor


The NAB has revealed the recipients of the 2023 NAB Engineering Achievement Awards.

Representing Radio is the Chief Technology Officer of Beasley Media Group.

The 2023 Radio Engineering Award is being bestowed upon Mike Cooney.

Cooney is a 15-year veteran of Beasley and a member of the company’s Executive Committee. He is responsible for the supervision and oversight of all engineering and technology matters related to Beasley’s 61 radio stations, as well as assisting in the management of the company’s capital and operating budgets.

Cooney is well-known in broadcast radio as a stakeholder and leader on numerous industry working groups. He is a former chairman of NAB’s Radio Technology Committee, a member of the NAB Automotive Initiative Committee, a member of the Technical Committee for the Broadcast Traffic Consortium and a former radio representative for the NAB FASTROAD Committee.

Cooney was named by Radio + Television Business Report as a Top Technology Leader in 2022 and 2023. A certified engineer by the Society of Broadcast Engineers, he has presented at several NAB conferences over the years.

The 2023 Television Engineering Achievement Award is being awarded to NBCUniverssal Local VP/Broadcast Technology H. Douglas Lung.

Lung leads NBC and Telemundo-owned stations’ RF and transmission affairs, including microwave, radars, satellite uplinks, and FCC technical filings.

H. Douglas Lung
H. Douglas Lung

Beginning his career in 1976 at KSCI-TV in Los Angeles, Lung has nearly 50 years of experience in broadcast television engineering. Beginning in 1985, he led the engineering department for what was to become the Telemundo network and station group, assisting in the design, construction and installation of the company’s broadcast and cable facilities. Other projects include work on the launch of Hawaii’s first UHF TV station, the rollout and testing of the ATSC mobile-handheld standard, and software development related to the incentive auction TV spectrum repack.