2010 Radio Mercurys bring forth Grand Prize tie


Winners for the 2010 Radio Mercury Awards were announced 9/27 at its annual awards reception at the NASDAQ MarketSite as part of the kick off of Advertising Week.  In an unexpected turn and a first in the history of the awards, the Final Round Judges decided to split the Grand Prize between two spots:

• “Cinco” – Dos Equis, Heineken, Euro RSCG NY
• “Dear Me” – Washington State Department of Health, WONGDOODY. 

Winners were awarded in all five categories, and as previously mentioned,  prizes were doubled in the Radio Station Produced, PSA, and Student categories. 

“The creative work this year, was exceptional, and there was a noticeable difference compared to what we heard last year,” noted Mike Hughes, President and Co-Chief Creative Officer, The Martin Agency and Co-Chief Judge for the Radio Mercury Awards. 

‘We realized that this could be a bit controversial when it came to splitting the prize, continued Hughes, “however, these two campaigns were by far the best work that we heard throughout the competition, and they deserved to be recognized as such.” 

Another first for the awards was the presentation of an award for the same spot in two different categories. Lapiz, a subsidiary of Leo Burnett Worldwide, won for Procter & Gamble’s Bounty, originally produced in Spanish and then in English.

Jennifer Layton, Brand Communications Manager, MINI USA, accepted the Radio Marketer of the Year honor on behalf of the automotive company’s innovative advertising, creativity and use of the medium for the  MINI Cooper.

The re-implementation of the Radio Creative Workshops was also announced at this year’s event, underwritten by Katz Media Group and Arbitron.  The Creative Workshops will take place in New York in November, followed by Los Angeles and Chicago in early 2011. The workshops will feature Radio Mercury Award Winners, with the purpose of showcasing best practices and innovative ways to use Radio as an integral part of a robust campaign. 

“Bringing back the creative workshops will continue to drive our mission of enhancing Radio creative,” said Jeff Haley, President and CEO of the Radio Advertising Bureau, and Co-Chair of the Radio Creative Fund. ‘”These workshops have always been in high demand within the advertising and creative communities.” 

The lively ceremony hosted by nationally syndicated personality, Elvis Duran, featured appearances by many of Radio’s leading talent including Matt Pinfield and Leslie Fram, 101.9 RXP; Jacque Reid, 98.7 KISSFM, and Cipha Sounds, Peter Rosenberg & K-Foxx – HOT97.

Also, in attendance were numerous leaders from the creative community including the aforementioned Mike Hughes and John Norman; Rick Boyko and Kelly O’Keefe of the VCU BrandCenter, Aldo Quevedo, President, Dieste; Ian Reichenthal and Scott Vitrone, Executive Creative Directors of Y&R New York; and David Weinstock, Executive Creative Director of EURO RSCG New York

Below is a list of the winning spots.  To listen to all of the work awarded at tonight’s awards ceremony, spots are available on the Radio Mercury Awards Website, courtesy of Arbitron. 

L-R: Grand Prize Winners, WONGDOODY, Jeff Haley President and CEO of the Radio Advertising Bureau flanked by John Norman and Mike Hughes, Co Chief Creative Officers from The Martin Agency.

L-R: John Norman, Co-Chief Creative Officer, The Martin Agency; Jeff Haley, President and CEO of the Radio Advertising Bureau, and Euro RSCG Grand Prize Winners and Mike Hughes Co-Chief Creative Officer, The Martin Agency.

2010 Radio Mercury Award Winners:

$50,000 Grand Prize Award
Dear Me Campaign
Washington State Department of Health

$50,000 Grand Prize Award
Heineken USA/Dos Equis
Euro RSCG New York

$5,000 PSA Award
Common Sense
Operation Lifesaver
Exit 10 Advertising/Flying Brick Radio

$5,000 Agency/Production Award
Butler, Shine, Stern & Partners

$2,500 Agency/Production Award
P&G Bounty

$5,000 Spanish
Language Award
P&G Bounty

$10,000 Campaign Award
Preston Kelly

Radio Station Award

$5,000 Student Award
Mosquito Insanity
Orkin Pest Control
Portfolio Center

Marketer of the Year
MINI Cooper