Millions tune in for prime time election coverage

By on Nov, 7 2012 with Comments 0

From  Nielsen:

An estimated 66.8 million people tuned in during primetime to watch the news coverage for the Presidential election as well as the Senate, Congressional and state elections.

 While coverage varied by network, 13 networks aired live coverage from approximately 8:00PM to 11:00PM. The chart below highlights the sum of the average audience for these networks.

2012 Election Night Coverage – November 6, 20128-11PM

Sum of Networks Live + Same Day

 

 

 

Rating

Number of Viewers

All Households

39.8

45,464,000

Persons 2+

23.0

66,840,000

Persons 18-34

20.0

13,522,000

Persons 35-54

26.0

20,880,000

Persons 55+

33.2

25,891,000

 For comparison, here are the figures for the 2008 election night coverage:

2008 Election Night Coverage – November 4, 20088-11pm ET/7-10pm CT/6-9pm MT/5-8pm PT

LIVE FEED/LIVE+SD DATA STREAM

 

 

 

Rating

Number of Viewers

All Households

41.5

47,508,000

Persons 2+

24.5

71,474,000

 2012 Networks Included: ABC, CBS, FOX, NBC, PBS, Univision, Telemundo, CNBC, CNN, FOX News Channel, MSNBC, Current TV, TV One.

 2008 Networks Included: ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, Univision, Telemundo, BBC America, BET, CNBC, CNN, FOX News Channel, MSNBC, TV One, WGN-America.

 For the full post visit Nielsen Wire at: http://blog.nielsen.com/nielsenwire/politics/66-8-million-viewers-tuned-into-election-coverage-during-prime/

 

For a look at all of Nielsen’s past political coverage click here: http://blog.nielsen.com/nielsenwire/category/politics/

 

About The Author: RBR-TVBR has been reporting on the business of broadcasting for nearly three decades. Beholden to no one, it is independently owned.

Comments are closed.





Password Reset
Please enter your e-mail address. You will receive a new password via e-mail.